Martijn Gribnau to succeed Maurice Oostendorp as Chairman of the Board of de Volksbank


On 17 June 2020, Martijn Gribnau will join the Board of Directors of de Volksbank. With effect from 15 August 2020, he will take over the position of Chairman of the Board of Directors from Maurice Oostendorp. This was decided today in an Extraordinary General Meeting of Shareholders on nomination of the Supervisory Board of de Volksbank.

Over the course of his 30-year career in the financial services industry, Martijn Gribnau (1964) was employed at de Postbank, ING Bank and Nationale-Nederlanden, holding various executive positions in the Netherlands and abroad, including that of General Manager of the Dutch Retail Board and Insurance Board of ING and CEO of ING Insurance Hungary and Bulgaria. Martijn currently holds the positions of Chief Transformation Officer and Chief Operations Officer, Life and Long Term Care Insurance at Genworth Financial, a US-based financial services provider (a Fortune 500 company).

Martijn takes over the helm from Maurice and will continue to build upon an innovative, future-proof bank that has a socially distinctive and relevant role. At the time of Maurice’s reappointment in 2019, it was announced that the Supervisory Board would set about his succession in his second term of appointment. The new strategy for the 2021-2025 period will be established at the end of this year. Therefore, this is a natural time to appoint Martijn. In view of Martijn’s extensive experience, we are confident that he will successfully contribute to the further development and execution of the new strategy.
Jan van Rutte, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of de Volksbank
I look forward to contributing to a stable, innovative and sustainable bank, and to continue to stimulate a simple and agile organisation that operates in the interests of its customers. I consider it an honour to drive the bank’s ‘Banking with a human touch’ mission forward together with the staff of de Volksbank.
Martijn Gribnau, Chairman of the Board of Directors of de Volksbank

The Supervisory Board is very grateful to Maurice for his contribution to the practical implementation of de Volksbank’s social role. “Since his appointment as Chairman of the Board in 2015, Maurice has steered the bank into calmer waters and has led de Volksbank with great commitment and enthusiasm. Maurice has also made a great contribution to de Volksbank’s distinctive position in the Dutch banking landscape. These achievements and his constructive guidance in this respect have been highly appreciated both inside and outside the company”, says Jan van Rutte.

The Works Council of de Volksbank has given a positive advice. The appointment of Martijn Gribnau has been approved by the supervisory authorities. Martijn’s term of appointment will expire at the time of the closure of the General Meeting of Shareholders in 2024.

After the departure of Maurice Oostendorp, the Board of Directors of de Volksbank will be composed of: Martijn Gribnau (CEO), Jeroen Dijst (CRO), Marinka van der Meer (CCO), Mirjam Verhoeven (COO) and Pieter Veuger (CFO).

Our employees have embraced our mission of putting the human touch back into banking and our ‘Better for each other’ promise. I am proud to have contributed to this. De Volksbank is ready for the next phase. In the period ahead, I will hand over my duties to Martijn, enabling him to prepare for his role as Chairman of the Board. I have a profound belief in the future of our bank and have full confidence that it will continue to add value for customers, society, employees and the shareholder.
Maurice Oostendorp, Former chairman of the Board of de Volksbank

Share this page


Latest news